The Exchange Club of Lake Highlands awarded scholarships worth more than $130,000 to 53 graduating LHHS seniors at their annual breakfast Friday. The grants will help students and their families pay college tuition and assure them that Exchange Club volunteers – and the community – recognize their determination and accomplishments.

ECLH Scholarship Chair Brent Basden said this year’s ceremony was special, since COVID-19 kept the club from inviting donors, RISD administrators and other guests for the past two years.

Sign up for our newsletter!

* indicates required

“This is a phenomenal group of students,” he praised, “and we know each of them has a bright future ahead.”

Some seniors were selected based on outstanding grades, leadership on campus or sacrificial community service. Others worked one, two or three after-school jobs, overcame crushing adversity or made their way to Lake Highlands from refugee camps overseas. Many checked multiple boxes.

Funds for the scholarships were raised at Oktoberfest Dallas and at the club’s annual auction and concert. Tickets are still available to see country music star Jack Ingram at this year’s event May 21 at Gilley’s. Donations may be made here.

You may read more about the history of some of the scholarships here.

The Jeff Kane Memorial Scholarship went to Emmanuel Olowoporoku (University of Tulsa).

Bob Potts Family Working Student Scholarships went to Krystal Anderson (Texas Southern University), Ainsley Haas (University of Texas), Audrey Stone (Texas A&M), Crawford Weale (University of Arkansas) and Kayla West (Blinn College).

Data Jo Potts Memorial Scholarships went to Vanessa Agbim (Texas Women’s University), Victoria Alabi (University of San Francisco), Virginia DeMent (Arkansas), Jason Kercheville (Texas State University) and Van Thang (University of Texas at Arlington).

James Brandon Burris Memorial Scholarships went to Olivia Potvin (TAMU) and Kate Tabor (Clemson).

The Herb and Frances Walne Memorial Scholarship went to Miranda Rinck (Cornell).

The Jason Oglesby Memorial Scholarship went to Jeremiah Hemingway (UTA).

Luck Family Foundation Scholarships went to Ayomide (Victoria) Ayoola (University of North Texas), Jose Cartegena (UNT), Elizabeth McNamara (Texas State), Grace Moon (University of Colorado-Boulder), Marlen Patricio Bueno (TWU or UNT or UT-Permian Basin) and Ella Sanders (TAMU).

Smitty’s Scholars – The Wade Smith Foundation Scholarships went to Habeeb Abiodun (UT-Dallas) and Ra’Neicia Tucker (TWU).

Austin Silva Memorial Scholarships went to Charlie Baumgarten (TAMU), Brandon Beller (TAMU), William Brokaw (TAMU), Olivia Fawkes (Belmont), Kyle Moran (TAMU) and Kayla Schwanke (UTPB).

Exchange Club of LH Scholarships went to Valerie Asemota (UT), Lauren Baronoskie (UT), Charlie Baumgarten (TAMU), Brandon Beller (TAMU), William Brokaw (TAMU), Grace Carroum (Arkansas), Drew Davis (TAMU), Ella Deason (Tulane), Laurel Dorminy (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Benjamin Howard (Auburn), Mu Lar Hso (UTA), William Hutton (Texas Tech), Nicholas Landry (Colorado School of Mines), Evan Leeper (UT), Ava McClung (Rice), Anna Moore (UT), Kyle Moran (TAMU), Grace Norris (American University), Jackson Reed (SMU), Sara Shelton (Dartmouth), Charlie Silva (UT), Madeleine Smith (Emory University), Carly Smith (TAMU), Re Lo Taw (Arkansas), Audrey Taylor (Santa Clara University) and Constance Taylor (Baylor).

Exchange Club Board of Director Scholarships went to Caden Chase (Oklahoma University) and Wendy Hernandez (Midwestern State University).

Congratulations all!