Merriman Park Elementary PTA members: Facebook

Teachers and PTA members from a few Lake Highlands schools received accolades at last Thursday’s Richardson ISD Council of PTAs awards program and officer installation.

Texas PTA President Leslie Boggs

Texas PTA President Leslie Boggs with White Rock Elementary’s PTA President Cary Baggett Woodall and membership VP Merilee Shacreaw Biancardi.

Merriman Park Elementary’s PTA and the White Rock Elementary PTA were honored for achieving the ambitious “voice for every child” goal — Richardson ISD Council of PTAs’ goal of a one to one ratio between a school’s PTA membership and its students, attained with the recruitment of local businesses and other community members joining the PTA. Only eight of the 56 Richardson ISD campuses to receive the recognition.

Additionally, three Merriman Park Elementary PTA members were installed as officers for the Richardson ISD Council for 2014-2015 school year: Liz Kluever, Meredyth Childress and Margaret Rozendaal. Chandler Feldman, Lindsay Baronoskie and Christina Etri of Merriman Park will also be serving on the Richardson ISD council board as chairmen.

10330343_630523233689091_4962043764202553478_nDuring the ceremony, teacher scholarships were also awarded to Amy Hebert of Spring Valley Elementary, Kate Rifkin of Richardson High school, and Alisa Bettega-Alisa of Merriman Park Elementary, and Laura Coker of Forest Meadow Junior High. (pictured left)

Alisa Bettega-Alisa, who is a Title 1 specialist at Merriman Park Elementary, is currently attending Lamar University to work on her educational administration degree so she can one day be an elementary principal.

Laura Coker is a speech and reading instructor at Forest Meadow Junior High for 7th and 8th graders. She is attending the University of North Texas and is working on her master’s degree in educational leadership and administration with aspirations of teaching at the college level as a professor or to be a secondary vice-principal/principal.