Dr. Kay Waggoner, Sarah Dossou, Pelumi Wemida, Truitt Matthews

Lake Highlands High School seniors Sarah Penny and Lee Leuder were named Youth of the Year by the Lake Highlands Exchange Club Friday at the annual awards breakfast. Sarah is Homecoming Queen and Wrangler captain will attend the University of Texas in the fall. Lee is VP of both the Senior Class and National Honor Society and will go to either UT or Harvard. Both received $1,000 scholarship awards.

Sarah Dossou and Pelumi Wemida earned the club’s ACE Awards – Accepting the Challenge of Excellence. You can read Sarah’s inspirational story in this month’s Advocate here, and Pelumi has excelled since arriving in LH from Nigeria. Sarah will attend TWU and Pelumi is headed to the University of Houston. The students were selected by LHHS counselors and received $1,000 scholarships.

Dr. Kay Waggoner, Rebecca Hall, Jeff Bradford, Luke Davis, Kay Winkler, Susan Mims, Sabrina Morse

RISD Superintendent Dr. Kay Waggoner presented Teacher of the Year Awards to Wallace Elementary’s Rebecca Hall, LHHS’ Jeff Bradford, Moss Haven’s Kay Winkler, White Rock’s Susan Mims, and Aikin’s Sabrina Morse. Each was given a plaque and a $500 cash award.

Congratulations, teachers and students!