Fifty graduating seniors received college scholarships and words of praise & support at today’s LH Exchange Club scholarship banquet. “As you go out into the world to pursue your dreams,” Exchange Club President Rhonda Russell told the kids, “know that Lake Highlands is your village and your village is proud of you. We hope you will return when your studies are complete.”

“These kids are evidence that we are getting high quality education at LHHS and RISD,” said Rod Bucker, who helped present the awards and spoke to parents and educators in the audience. Also attending the event, held at Lake Highlands United Methodist Church, were State Rep. Carol Kent, new RISD Superintendent Dr. Kay Waggoner, retiring RISD Trustee David Tyson and LHHS Principal Walter Kelly.

Receiving the Luck Family Foundation and David Tice Scholarships were:
• Jennifer Ciocan,
• Pearl-Ruth Eben,
• Merhawit Ghebermicael,
• David Gwinn,
• Rinmachui Kaping,
• Emilie Murdock,
• Paige Slater,
• Emily Still,
• Christina Suwannuch, and
• Colton Williams.
Academic Scholarships were awarded to:
• Natnael Abate,
• Clara Bailey,
• Nathan Hogg,
• Michelle McCloskey,
• Abraham Myers,
• Claire Pittman,
• Nena Rubin,
• Shea Snider,
• Kurt Stadelmann,
• Patrick Thornton,
• Timothy Wall,
• Megan Williams,
• John Woodiel, and
• Katie York.
Exchange Club Board of Directors’ Scholarship went to:
• Shea Snider, and
• Michelle McCloskey.
The Scholarship in Memory of Herb and Frances Walne was earned by:
• Nena Rubin
The Dr. Bob Iden Scholarhip went to:
• Kurt Stadelmann.
The Robbie Daniel Memorial Scholarship was given to:
• Myles Osborn.
The Jason Oglesby Memorial Scholarships were awarded to:
• Monica Burke,
• Carime Palma, and
• Qajuan Webb.
The Data Jo Potts Memorial Scholarships were received by:
• Allison Calvin,
• Caroline Henton,
• DJ Sandidge, and
• Martin White.
The Bob Potts Family LH Achievement Award went to:
• Dewayne Chandler and
• Andrea Cochran.
The Melinda Ann Lee Memorial Scholarship was presented to:
• Chase Davis.
The Bob Potts Family Working Students Scholarships were given to:
• Sterling Brown,
• Jennifer Caballero,
• Ijeoma Eneremadu,
• Eduardo Nava,
• Robbie Penny,
• Samantha Tarter,
• Caroline Wilder, and
• Rachael Zreet.
The Neal Smith Memorial Scholarship went to:
• Jared Taylor.
The Jeff Kane Memorial Scholarship was presented to:
• Shantano Singh and
• Ben Toler.
Congratulations seniors and congratulations Exchange Club for shaping an entire community and lifting generations of Wildcats since 1961.