LaTrell Smith was named the district’s Defensive MVP. Photo by Jeff Bargas.

No one was surprised when University of Texas commit Ja’Quinden Jackson was named MVP for District 8-6A following Duncanville High School’s repeat run to the state playoffs, but the Panthers were weren’t the only squad with multiple honorees on the Dallas area All-District football team.

Wildcat senior LaTrell Smith was named Defensive MVP for the district, and quarterback Mitch Coulson, slotback Dreveon Eatmond, kicker Will Faris and offensive linemen Jalon Fennessee and Jeaver Walitubana were recognized as first team offense. Linebackers Azion Washington and Caleb Parker earned first team honors for outstanding play on defense.

The Wildcats enjoyed a stellar season, with Coach Lonnie Jordan leading the team to a 35-19 defeat of Mansfield Summit – LHHS’ first playoff win since we won one playoff game in 2009 and two in 2008. The 2019 season ended when LHHS lost to Flower Mound Marcus 36-27 at the Dallas Cowboys’ facility The Star in Frisco. Go Cats!