1. ’Tis the season to be freezin’

Keep warm this winter with bold and colorful scarves from White Rock artist Clara Johnson. Each scarf is made with silk and hand painted to create an original piece of wearable art. The mixed-media artist also sells a variety of products from canvas paintings to hand-painted pillows and coasters. ($75-125) Place an order at claraannjohnson@yahoo.com.

2. Garden gift

Gift the most beautiful 66 acres in North Texas with a membership to the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden. Members receive free parking, access to exclusive events and year-round admission from the first blooms of spring to the bright lights of the holidays. ($95)

8525 Garland Road

3. Hope the holidays don’t succ

At Brumley Gardens, purchase a succulent or cactus as cute décor. You can either build your own arrangement or choose one that has already been put together. Be careful not to prick yourself! (Price varies)

brumleygardens.com, 10540 Church Road

4. Neighborhood pride pillows

Do you have a loved one who is absolutely wild about Lake Highlands? At The Store in Lake Highlands, you can buy neighborhood pillows. “Life is better in Lake Highlands” and “Lake Highlands is my happy place,” are just two of the neighborhood designs. The Store in Lake Highlands also sells zip code pillows. ($39.95)

thestoreinlh.com, 9850 Walnut Hill Lane, Suite 226

5. The whole family can match

Vickery Trading Co. equips refugee women for long-term success through vocational training and personal development, plus jobs with fair wages. All products are made right here in Dallas in the Vickery Meadow neighborhood. Super soft lounge pants are available for the entire family in a range of sizes for kids, women and men. Each pair includes a tag signed by the woman who made them. Use code ADVOCATE10 to save 10% on your purchase. ($29/kids $39/adults) vickerytrading.org

6. Jingle belles

Chelsea Bell’s line of jewelry, Rosie + Belle, is the perfect gift for those who love to accessorize. Bell’s handmade jewelry is refreshing in a world of fast fashion. Support a local designer and small business with these original pieces. ($79)

Rosieandbelle.com

7. Home for the holidays

If your relatives can’t make it home for the holidays, send them a gift that smells like home. White Rock Soap Gallery has soy wax candles named and scented after favorite neighborhood spots. Smell weekend barbecues and gardening inspired scents of musk, amber and woods in Lake Highlands or take a whiff of White Rock Lake’s woody notes. Also, check out candles inspired by the Arboretum and Casa Linda. ($25)

whiterocksoapgallery.com, 10233 E. Northwest Highway

8. Brew-tastic

Serve a different type of gift, Vanilla Porter beer. Oak Highlands Brewery offers a smooth but bold porter with just a hint of sweetness. It’s infused with whole vanilla beans to balance the roasted coffee and chocolate undertones. It’s 6.1% alcohol by volume. For the beer lover in your life.  ($10)

oakhighlandsbrewery.com, 10484 Brockwood Road

9. A wooden wonderland

Wander into the gift shop at the C.C. Young Senior Living center and find the perfect rustic decor for your home. A group of residents known as the Woodies handcrafts products with Texas flair. Check out the Texas tray, a state-shaped cutting board or a live-edge cheese board. ($100-200)

4847 W. Lawther Drive

10. Snowman-carons and chocolates

Nothing like satisfying a sweet tooth for the holidays. Haute Sweet Patisserie serves holiday treats including snowman and Christmas tree macarons, chocolate trees and an assortment of chocolates.
(Price varies)

hautesweetspatisserie.com, 10230 E. Northwest Highway

11. The gift that keeps on giving

Books by neighborhood authors are the ultimate gift for those who love to read. Here are three we love.

Ain’t Nobody Nobody by Heather Harper Ellet is a tragi-comic East Texas murder story. The mystery follows a disgraced ex-sheriff, a surly 17-year-old girl and a naive ranch hand who find unlikely redemption in a dead hog hunter on a fence. It’s perfect for fans of “Fargo” and Carl Hiaasen mysteries or for that quirky aunt with a twisted sense of humor. To sweeten the deal, contact the author at heatherharperellett.com, and she’ll arrange for a personalized inscription. 

The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker was selected by Reese Witherspoon’s book club earlier this year, and it’s peppered with Dallas references. It has been described as “Big Little Lies” meets “Working Girl.” Buy here.

50 Dates With The Lord by Pamper Lake Highlands founder Caren Bright is a memoir and illustration of what an intimate relationship with God can look like. Find it on Amazon.