Lake Highlands offensive lineman Scott Hanks will be one of 52 high school football players honored by the National Football Foundation Gridiron Club Dallas Chapter tonight at Cowboys stadium.

Last year Ricky Zorn won the national award for his accomplishments on and off the football field.

Sign up for our newsletter!

* indicates required

“Hanks is one of those kids that you want on your team,” Scott Smith, Lake Highlands head coach said. “If you could have a team full of players like him you wouldn’t ask for anything more because you know he’s going to lead and do everything he needs to do to be the best he can be. And that’s what you want out of your players.”

Below is a list of others being honored at the presentation tonight at 7 p.m.:

High School Scholar-Athletes
Rob Blowers (Aledo); Ryan Pollard (Arlington Martin); Josh Green (Arlington Seguin); Ben Selby (Birdville); Jordan Funches (Carrollton Creekview); Braxton Bearden (Carrollton Newman Smith); Paul Mata (Carrollton R.L. Turner); Aaron Harwell (Cedar Hill); John Brooks Keene (Colleyville Heritage); Joe Minden (Coppell); Damian Brown (Dallas A. Maceo Smith); David Kaplan (Dallas Jesuit); Johnny Paramore (Denton Ryan); David Porter III (DeSoto); Divan Ealy (Duncanville); DaMichael Estrada (Fort Worth Dunbar); Nick Foster (Frisco Centennial); Joe Ajayi (Frisco Liberty); Ryan Rice (Frisco Wakeland); Justin Torris (Garland Naaman Forest); Bret Roper (Granbury); Kyle Stouffer (Highland Park); Tareyton Banks (Irving Nimitz); Sawyer Cooper (Justin Northwest); Josh Tucker (Keller); Tyler Barnett (Keller Central); Tyleil Bradshaw (Keller Fossil Ridge); Javan Robinson (Lewisville Hebron); Sean Breard (Little Elm); Charles Conner Vaughn (Maypearl); Brent Tolbert (McKinney); Kyle Zimmerman (McKinney Boyd); Austin Laudenslager (McKinney North); Christopher Spachholz (Mesquite); Stephon Sanders (Mesquite Horn); Kyler Dillon Brown (Midlothian); Dionte Johnson (North Dallas); Wesley Carr (North Mesquite); Connor Michelsen (Plano); Walter Rampy (Plano East); Justin Dax Damrich (Plano West); Reagan Lucio (Richardson Berkner); Scott Hanks (Richardson Lake Highlands); Jett Robertson (Richardson Pearce); Payden McBee (Rockwall); Tyler Wood (Rockwall-Heath); Logan Brown (Rowlett); Leslie Evans (South Grand Prairie); Chance Grayson (Van Alstyne); Blake Childress (West Mesquite); Louis Wilson (Wichita Falls); and Ethan Lington (Wylie).

Distinguished Texan
Gary Patterson, head coach of the TCU Horned Frogs

College Scholar-Athletes
Evan Beaton (East Texas Baptist); Derek Epperson (Baylor); Zack Eskridge (Midwestern State); Adam Farkes (Texas A&M – Commerce); Pete Fleps (SMU); Bart Johnson (TCU); Austin Light (Austin College); Micah Mosley (North Texas) and Jacob Rowe (Tarleton State).

Legends Award
Tommy Hudspeth, former head football coach at Weatherford, McKinney, Longview, Sherman and Mesquite.

Athletics Director of the Year
Ken Purcell, the athletics director for the Denton Independent School District.

Head Coaches of the Year
Randy Jackson, Mesquite Poteet
Jim Bob Puckett, Lucas Lovejoy

Assistant Coaches of the Year
Pete Gee, Mesquite Poteet
Billy Thompson, Lucas Lovejoy

Steve Storie Official of the Year
Charles Stephenson, secretary of the Dallas Football Officials Association

For information on tickets and/or banquet sponsorship opportunities, contact Club President Gerald Brence at 469-878-5370 or via e-mail at