Seven LHHS students have been accepted into NASA’s High School Aerospace Scholars program. Rising seniors Karin Claussen, Laura Jean Mueller, Tyler Patton, Hart Rockwell, Shea Snider, Patrick Thornton, and Vincent Zaballa will attend Space Camp this summer at the Johnson Space Center.

To be considered, the students first had to be nominated for the program by a state rep or senator and recommended by their math and science teachers. During their junior year, they completed eleven NASA curriculum lessons, including lessons on shuttle design, moon geology, zero gravity, and the history of the space race. They also designed a lunar rover, analyzed the human factors of space travel, designed a Martian colony, and developed ideas to foster cooperation on the International Space Station.

After completing the interactive online curriculum with help from LHHS physics teacher Dr. Ken Taylor, they applied for a spot at Space Camp. All seven were among the 350 Texas students chosen from 900 applicants. They’ll receive a full high school science credit, and all expenses will be paid by NASA.