Check out these selections written by neighborhood authors:

Young adult

BONNIE AND CLYDE: THE
MAKING OF A LEGEND

by Karen Blumenthal

Written for young adults, this book debunks the many myths that surround notorious sweethearts Bonnie Parker and Clyde Barrow. Karen Blumenthal dissects how two poverty-stricken teens turned outlaws are remembered as a legendary couple.  Blumenthal also wrote “Jane Against the World: Roe V. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights” for young adults.

Dark sense of humor

AIN’T NOBODY NOBODY

by Heather Harper Ellett

“Ain’t Nobody Nobody” is a tragicomic East Texas murder story. The mystery follows a disgraced ex-sheriff named Randy Mayhill, a surly 17-year-old girl and a naive ranch hand who find unlikely redemption in solving the murder of a hog-hunter. In order to protect the reputation of his late friend Van Woods, Mayhill investigates. It’s perfect for fans of “Fargo.”

Crime junkies

RUSH

by Kim Wozencraft

The novel follows  rookie cop Kristen Cates who becomes embroiled in police corruption and drugs in Pasadena, Texas. While trying to survive as a junkie, Cates creates a bogus case and becomes a target for murder. LHHS alumna Kim Wozencraft loosely based her novel on her personal experience as an undercover cop during the War on Drugs. The book was adapted to a major motion picture in 1991.

Sports lovers

CHAMPION OF THE BARRIO

by R. Gaines Baty

R. Gaines Baty writes the memoir of his father, Buryl Baty. In 1950, Baty became the head football coach at Bowie High School in El Paso where he shaped the lives of the players, all Mexican Americans from the Segundo Barrio [Second Neighborhood.] He fought bigotry and helped the players navigate through the time period’s prejudices.

Entrepreneur

It’s About Damn Time: How to Turn Being Underestimated Into Your Greatest Advantage

By Arlan Hamilton

If you’re an entrepreneur wanting to start a business, look no further for inspiration. Arlan Hamilton shares how she worked her way from a tour manager to running a multimillion-dollar investment companyYou can also listen to the audiobook, which Hamilton reads herself.